Finished works...

TBT…Does Not Compute…

Welcome to a new little series documenting quilts I have made that still live at my house. This series will be short and sweet I assure you!

The first quilt I want to share was made using a pattern by Boo Davis called Does Not Compute. This pattern is found in the book she published Dare to be Square: A Block-by-Block Guide to Making Patchwork and Quilts.

IMG_2747 edited

IMG_2744 edited

Here are the specifics on this crib-sized quilt:

  • Quilt Pattern – Does Not Compute designed by Boo Davis
  • Pieced by – Amanda Johnston
  • Quilted by – Longarmed by Margo Halpenny
  • Binding by – Amanda Johnston
  • Year Finished – 2012
  • Size – 40 inches x 49 inches
  • Made for – Roan Johnston
  • This quilt is unlabeled

I had a flurry of creativity during this time and took advantage to the fullest by finishing two quilts and one flimsy. With this quilt and another that I worked concurrently, my foray into modern quilting began.

This little quilt means more to me than something to keep my new baby warm. When my little guy was born he fit inside the robot’s tummy; his dad and I will forever have this visual reference as to how tiny he was when he came into the world.

Thank you for reading the story of this little quilt.

Cheers,

Amanda

13 thoughts on “TBT…Does Not Compute…

  1. Oh, this is so cute! πŸ’™ Wish I would have thought to add a little room for growth when making my son’s quilt. It keeps looking smaller and smaller. Think I’ll add a border to it one of these days. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. Thank you Amanda! I went on to make my son a lap-sized quilt for this past Christmas. It’s too small for his twin bed, and way too big for a lap quilt. Darn it, now I will have to make another ;)!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This quilt is so cute! And what a great memory of your son laying on the quilt. I love when seeing a quilt can bring back a great memory like this one.

    Like

    1. Thank you Tish for your comment! I think this will be a fun little series where I can spend some time thinking about quilt stories.

      Like

Leave a Reply

