Tips and Tutorials... · Works in progress...

Rainbow Bee Block

I’ve changed my mind on what bee block I would like for my month as queen bee, and I hope its not too late. I will approach my group to see if anyone has started on my block yet and go from there.

This idea just had to get out of my head and I had a bit of time this morning to work on it (the kids are both sick at home). My plan is to make these stripy blocks and then set them with a solid color once I’ve collected all of my blocks.

So how do you make these?

Step 1: Curate a small pile of a single rainbow-y color (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet) with about 5-7 prints and solids.

IMG_3172 edited

Step 2: Cut strips of varying widths from 1.5″ to 3″. Arrange the strips in a way that is pleasing to your eye, or grab the strips randomly for a wabi-sabi block.

IMG_3173 edited

Step 3: Piece your strips together, iron and trim block to whatever size maximizes the pieced area. And done!

IMG_3175 edited

Below is the start of something I think!

IMG_3176 edited

Cheers,

Amanda

4 thoughts on “Rainbow Bee Block

    1. Thanks Marla! I have a few ideas brewing with regards to setting these scrappy strip sets. I’m excited to see how it develops!

      Like

    1. I am pretty jazzed about the possibilities with this one. I am much happier with my decision now. And I hope my enthusiasm doesn’t wane by the time all of my blocks arrive.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

