Finished works...

Hello Pool…Christmas in the Making!

We took the kids to a comic convention last weekend and all had a blast! I was quite hesitant at first because I’m not into comics or video games, but there was some stitchy things to be had so I was quickly won over. My son had the most fun of us all, enjoying the other cosplayers’ costumes and the things geared towards kids.

So what is this post about then? The stitchy things of course. I picked up two English Paper Piecing patterns from Crafty Geeks to ‘sew my own dang superheros’ for Christmas presents. Here is a link to Crafty Geeks’ Etsy shop. ‘Hello Pool’ is the character I finished first and here is a bit of the process.

The gal at the booth handed me a pamphlet with instructions on how to use her patterns which came in handy. In my mind, I was going to cut out both patterns and work on them simultaneously. However, one piece of advice from the pamphlet is to work in small sections and attach pieces together as you go. That’s the way to do it to keep yourself from getting mixed up. In order to make the process of basting a few pieces and then sewing them together more efficient, I had both a basting needle and sewing needle threaded and ready to go. So off I went and got the character all sewn together.

1

For the last few EPP projects I have been working on, I’ve been using a Ladder Stitch to sew my pieces together. You can use a whip stitch as well, or whatever stitch works for you. Here is a wonderful tutorial on the Ladder Stitch and I might just have to give it a try for hand-binding.

6

Once my character was all sewn together, I removed the papers and sewed a few boarders to make the top 14.5″ x 14.5″, big enough for a 14″ square pillow insert. I fused my top onto fusible fleece (no basting of any kind required) and quilted it using a variegated thread and a 1″ cross-hatch.

7

I made an envelope back for the pillow cover so that I can remove the pillow insert and wash everything (as you know you need to do with kiddos). And voila, a fun and cute gift is born.

img_3286-edited

So up next is another character to hand-sew, among all the other things I have half-started!!!

Cheers,

Amanda

 

7 thoughts on “Hello Pool…Christmas in the Making!

    1. Thanks Yvonne! I really did have lots of fun looking at everyones’ costumes and all of the collectable things. I always forget how satisfying a smaller project is. I’m excited for Quilt Theory to launch! Cheers!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

